De Beers Names Winners of Shining Light Awards, Honoring Young Jewelers in Producer Countries


Courtesy De Beers

The winning designs by Lilja Pesanka Hastie

De Beers has announced the winners of the 18th Shining Light Awards, which honor young jewelry designers from Botswana, Namibia, and South Africa.

The competition is open to current students and those who have completed their studies in the past two years. Designers were invited to create a commercial collection, using 2-D or 3-D technical drawings, including a ring, a bracelet, a pendant, and earrings with the theme “the promise.” 

Lilja Pesanka Hastie, who attends the Tshwane University of Technology in Pretoria, South Africa, won the highest award, the Forevermark Promise Award, which comes with a yearlong scholarship to train with the Forevermark design team in Milan.

Louise Kriek and Madeli Viljoen, both of whom also attend the Tshwane University of Technology, received the Cursor Sursum Award and will be offered three-month-long training scholarships in Milan.

Julius Brettschneider, from Adrian Meyer Jewellers in Windhoek, Namibia; Mpho Mokgatle, from the Oodi College of Applied Arts Technology in Gaborone, Botswana; and Omphile Sibanda, from the Tshwane University of Technology, all received the Shining Light Development Award.

“We are thrilled with all the nominees of this year’s Shining Light Awards,” said Kevin Goodrem, vice president of beneficiation, De Beers global sightholder sales. “From De Beers’ and our partners’ side, it has been the greatest reward knowing that we have invested in diverse greatness, upskilling and significantly developing the careers of 12 unique individuals, which will in turn be sown back into their respective countries.”

Comments are closed.